top of page
Search
mackenzie646

People Mackenzie Knows: Vernetta DeVane

I first met Vernetta DeVane as the liaison to John Larson, Council Member of the South Ward, in the City of Winston-Salem and just loved her immediately (as I would hazard anyone who meets her does.) Over the years we have worked together on many items, and bonus, developed a friendship!


Mackenzie Cates-Allen and Vernetta DeVane at the Fire Station 13 Opening in Winston-Salem, NC


Here is some more about her.


1. What’s your name, and what do you do? •Vernetta DeVane. I have been working with the City of Winston-Salem for nearly 27 years. I was the Victim Assistance Coordinator for 10 years with WSPD and the remainder of my time has been spent as a Community Assistance Liaison. In that role I support the Council Member for the South Ward. I am major part of that work is assisting in addressing community member's issues, concerns and suggestions.


2. What’s your history? •Winston-Salem is home for me. I was born and raised here. I graduated from NC State and came back home. While I am assigned to assist in the South Ward, I care about Winston-Salem as a whole.


3. WHY do you do what you do? •I honestly enjoy what I do. I have a Master's in Conflict Resolution so finding answers is my jam. I love helping and being a problem solver. While my answer can't always be yes to a question, you can rest assured I have researched the answer and can explain why.


4. What’s your favorite part about Winston-Salem? •I would say it's Winston-Salem's charm. We are big enough to have good entertainment/recreation, food and business variety but small enough to have charm and easy access to everything.


5. If you could take a trip to visit anywhere outside of Winston-Salem, where would it be and why? •Right now, I think I want to travel to Europe, particularly Spain to visit a friend that moved there a few months ago.


-BONUS QUESTION- Do you think you’re an ambassador for Winston-Salem? •I am sure many would say I am. I would say I am an advocate in all aspects. I support our city and I promote our city.





5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page