top of page
Search
mackenzie646

What I Believe

Copied from my original post on www.ElectMackenzie.ws.


Still good, still applicable.



What I believe

I believe all people have value. I believe Black Lives Matter. I believe women’s rights are human rights. I believe climate change is real. I believe that there are many genders; I believe that our LBGTQIA+ friends and neighbors deserve equal rights. I believe don’t have the right to tell anyone to do with their body. I believe that you should pay people appropriately. I believe in taking care of yourself and of others, whenever possible. I believe that white privilege exists and in the systemic nature of it and how it is seeped into every corner of our culture. I vehemently believe in the separation of church and state. I believe in the power of a vote, and I believe that we are better together. I reserve the right to learn and grow every day. I believe in transparency and openness. I believe listening is vital. I believe that there is not enough seeking to understand others and that doing so is a good thing. I seek to teach people about our City government and how they can utilize it. I seek to encourage people to be involved as much and as often as possible and the best ways to do it. I believe we need better transportation systems, more covered bus stops and benches. I believe we need a community garden in every neighborhood, if not every yard. I believe we need to have solar panels and urban gardens. Every new building should have at a minimum, incentives built in for weight bearing roofs, if not requirements. I believe that the City Council sets the vision and the tone for our City and I. believe. That. We. Can. Do. Better. In everything. I seek to examine the budget with a fine tooth comb and weed out inefficiencies. I want to thoroughly engage with the South Ward and all of Winston-Salem to build our legacy. I do not believe that there is enough community engagement in most wards. I also believe that we need more Wards and at least two at-large seats. I believe we should remove money from politics. I believe in the people. I don’t believe in development for the sake of development. How many Dollar Generals does one city need? We need housing by the tens of thousands, including ACTUAL affordable housing, and we need it now. I seek to add jobs by encouraging small and medium sized businesses not just to be created, but to help sustain and grow them. Above all, I wish to build a sense of community, in the South Ward and in the city and I wish to encourage everyone to do the same. I believe in you. Yours, Mackenzie Cates-Allen

10 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page